Harambee Starlets in a past match
COSAFA: Kenya to participate in the 2017 tourney
By Zachary Oguda | Sat 12 Aug, 2017 12:00

In what will be their first major assignment this year since their participation at the African Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) last year in Cameroon, the national women football team the Harambee Starlets will be participating in the 2017 Confederation of South African Football Associations (COSAFA) CUP slated for September in Zimbabwe.

The women's competition which was last held in 2011 will have Kenya as the only guest nation with a total of 14 teams, from the member countries expected to participate though only 12 teams have confirmed availability.

Defending Champions

Hosts Zimbabwe are the defending champions of the competition after beating South Africa 1-0 in the final at Rufaro Stadium five years ago in a tournament which saw invited nation Tanzania finishing third after beating Malawi 3-1. 

The competition will be held between September 17 and 26 at the Barbourfields Stadium and the Queens Sports Club in Bulawayo. 


Teams that have confirmed participate include; Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe 

Zachary Oguda

Twitter: @zaxoguda

Related Articles
The Executive Committee of the Confédération Africaine de Football (CAF) under the presidency of I...
As the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) Women Premier League (WPL) nears kick off, Mombasa side Speda...

Leave a comment