Past action between Kisumu Starlets and Vihiga Queens in the WPL. The 2019 season will kick off on February 24
Date confirmed for 2019 WPL kickoff
By Peter Wainaina | Thu 10 Jan, 2019 16:31

Football Kenya Federation (FKF) has confirmed that the 2019 Women’s Premier League (WPL) will kick off on Sunday 14 February, two months after the 2018 season came to a close.

The season will offer Vihiga Queens the chance to make it a hatrick of triumphs after claiming the last two titles.


New entrants Kibera Girls Soccer Academy and Nyuki Starlets complete the 16 team list after sealing promotion from the Divison One League, replacing relegated Mombasa Olympic and Baringo Starlets.

Kibera Girls topped the division’s Zone A while Nyuki prevailed in Zone B.

Below is the full list of teams that will participate;

Vihiga Queens, Thika Queens, Trans Nzoia Falcons, Eldoret Falcons, Gaspo Youth, Oserian Ladies, Makolanders, Kisumu All Starlets, Wadadia, Mathare United Women, Spedag, Kayole Starlets, Vihiga Leeds, Soccer Queens, Kibera Girls Academy, Nyuki Starlets

Peter Wainaina
Twitter: @naina_naish
Leave a comment