Gor Mahia's Erick Ouma in a previous action
Kenyan Messi, Marcelo among Kenya U20 call ups
By Vincent Stephen | Sat 19 Mar, 2016 09:13

Qatar based Mohammed Ramadhan Katana popularly known as Messi Agege has been named in the 31-man squad summoned by the Football Kenya Federation (FKF) to report to Kenya Under-20 camp to start preparations for the 2017 Africa U20 Cup of Nations qualifier match against Sudan slated for Saturday 2 April in Khartoum.

The 17-year-old earns his first call up having done well in the Alkass International Tournament while featuring for Aspire Football Dreams where he emerged the Most Valuable Player (MVP).

Apart from Agege, also in the team is Gor Mahia’s promising left-back, Eric Marcelo Ouma and his former school mates from Kakamega High School, Apollo Otieno (Chemelil Sugar), Harun Nyakha (Agrochemicals), Alfred Wekesa (AFC Leopards), goalkeepers Timothy Odhiambo (Sony Sugar) and Edwin Mukolwe (AFC Leopards), Joseph Okumu (Chemelil Sugar) who masterminded the Green Commandoes’ race to clinch the 2014 Airtel Rising Stars Secondary Schools' title.

The team will be led by former Thika United and Posta Rangers tactician John Kamau while Hesbon Nyabinge will serve as the assistant coach.

Goalkeepers: Timothy Odhiambo (SoNy Sugar), Edwin Mukolwe (AFC Leopards), Gad Matthews (Kisumu Day)

Defenders: Collins Okumu (Thika United), Joseph Okumu (Chemelil Sugar), Kenneth Mugambi (Western Stima), Baraka Badi (Thika United), Eric Ouma (Gor Mahia), Boniface Mukhekhe (St. Anthony’s Kitale) and David Kennedy Owino (Laiser Hill).

Midfielders: Kevin Owino (Laiser Hill), Michael Mutinda (Thika United), Harun Nyakha (Agrochemicals), Said Tsuma (Thika United), Mahia), Oliver Maloba (City Stars), Apollo Otieno (Chemelil Sugar), Cliff Kasuti (Ulinzi Stars), Cliff Nyakeya (Gor Mahia Youth), Vincent Wasambo and Michael Ovella Ochieng’ (Kariobangi Sharks), Amos Nondi (Gor Mahia), Kenneth Owino (Nakuru AllStars), Kibet Kilele (Ligi Ndogo SC),

Forwards: John Macharia (Laiser Hill), Eugine Mukangula (Thika United), Derrick Onyango (Mathare United), Alfred Wekesa (AFC Leopards), Baron Oketch (Western Stima), Nicholas Kipkirui (Zoo Kericho), Ramadhan Katana (Aspire Academy), Boniface Muchiri (SoNy Sugar), Remmy Sheikh (Ligi Ndogo SC).

Others on the pending list

Musa Masika (Laiser Hill), Teddy Osok (Nairobi Stima), Hussein Dafala and Omar Ahmed (Garissa High), James Kinyanjui (Passenga Boys), Vedice Otieno (Sparki Youth), Hansel Ochieng’ (Nairobi Stima), Alwyn Tera (FC Saburtalo, Georgia), John Avirre (Passenga Boys), Ken Mutembei (FC Talanta), Arnold Kariuki (Tusker Youth), Patrick Kimani (Thika United).

Vincent Stephen

Twitter: @vincentsopiyo

Email: Vincent@soka.co.ke

Related Articles
Former Thika United and Posta Rangers Head Coach has been handed the mandate to handle the Kenya Und...
Ulinzi Stars winger Cliff Kasuti has settled well at the Nakuru club having joined straight after co...

The 2015 East African Secondary School Games' best player in the boys category Joseph Janjali is amo...
Ahead of the Under 17 and Under 20 Africa Nations Championships qualifiers, Rishadi Shedu has u...

Leave a comment