Nigeria Super Falcon ready for AWCON SCORE NIGERIA
Nigeria's provisional AWCON squad named
By Mercy Katheu | Thu 08 Nov, 2018 08:00

Nigeria’s Super Falcons head coach Thomas Dennerby has named a strong squad for the Africa Cup of Nations AWCON tournament which is set to take place starting Saturday 17 November in Ghana.


The provisional squad of 23 players will travel to Ivory Coast for week-long training where the team will play friendly matches before the final 21 players are picked. The squad has a good mix of experienced players as well as rookies. It includes rising star Rasheedat Ajibade, defender Onome Ebi and reigning African Woman Footballer of the Year Asisat Oshoala. 

Oshoala, a former Arsenal player and a veteran of the tournament, leads a list of 14 overseas based players.

Also read: Former Chelsea player relieves Nigeria amputee team from financial strains

Falcons will be vying for the ninth African title and are placed in Group B alongside South Africa, Equatorial Guinea and Zambia, with the team listed to play South Africa on Sunday 18 November before facing Zambia three days later and finally, latest entrants Equatorial Guinea in the final group match five days later.

Also read

 KWPL: Mathare United held as Falcons Triumph

The final squad will leave the Asec Mimosas FC Academy, Sol Beni, for Ghana from Abidjan on 14 November to attend the tournament, with hosting team Ghana opening the tournament against Algeria on Saturday 17 November in Group A alongside Mali and Cameroon.

Nigeria's provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Tochukwu Oluehi and Chiamaka Nnadozie (Rivers Angels); Christy Ohiaeriaku (Confluence Queens)

Defenders: Glory Ogbonna (Ibom Angels); Ugochi Emenayo and Sarah Nnodim (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Ebere (Barcelona FC, Cyprus); Faith Michael (Pitea IF, Sweden); Onome Ebi (Henan Huisanhang, China); Osinachi Ohale (Vaxjo DFF, Sweden); Josephine Chukwunonye (Asarum AIF, Sweden)

Midfielders: Amarachi Okoronkwo (Nasarawa Amazons); Ngozi Okobi (Eskiltuna UTD, Sweden); Rita Chikwelu and Ogonna Chukwudi (Krstianstand DFF, Sweden); Halimat Ayinde (Asarum AIF, Sweden)

Forwards: Anam Imo (Nasarawa Amazons); Rasheedat Ajibade (FC Robo Queens); Asisat Oshoala (Dalian Quanjian, China); Francisca Ordega (Washington Spirit, USA); Desire Oparanozie (En Avant Guingamp, France); Chinaza Uchendu (SC Braga, Portugal); Chinwendu Ihezuo (Biik Kazygurt, Kazakhstan)

Mercy Katheu
Mercy Katheu
Related Articles
Former Gor Mahia and Bandari FC striker Dan Sserenkuma is back in the national fold after the Vipers...
Uganda Cranes will be coming against African giants Nigeria in a friendly clash on Tuesday 20 Novemb...

African Women Cup of Nations (AWCON) title holders Nigeria have released their provisional squad th...
Liberia president George Weah came out of retirement at the age of 51 to feature for his country on ...

Leave a comment