FKF Vice President Robert Asembo (left) awards Frank Nuttal (right) Coach of the Year award
Nutall bags Coach of the Year Award
By Patrick Korir | Wed 09 Dec, 2015 23:20

Frank Nuttall has been named as the 2015 SportPesa Coach of the Year during a gala held at a Nairobi Hotel on Wednesday 9 December. 

The Scotsman was picked as the crème de la crème of the 16 top flight coaches this season after leading Gor to a back to back title, the third in a row, and 15th overall in the local league. He beat 2009 winner Robert Matano of Ulinzi Stars into second spot and Bandari's Twahir Muhiddin into third spot. 

Unbeaten streak

Nuttall joined Gor on 3 September 2014 and guided the team to a title retention at the end of that year. He went on to register a first this term, leading K'ogalo to go 30 games in the 2015 league unbeaten matching the record of 1976 when the team first won the league unblemished.

Over and above grabbing a second straight title with the side, Nuttall ensured that Gor matched their unbeaten streak of 32 games set between 17 July 1975 with a 1-0 win over Kenya Police at City Stadium through to 2nd April 1977 with a 2-0 win over Kisumu All Stars in winning this year’ league.

To claim the accolade, Nuttall beat Ken Kenyatta (Ushuru), Twahir Muhiddin (Bandari), Robert Matano (Ulinzi Stars) and Paul Nkata formerly with Muhoroni Youth but now with Tusker FC.

He takes over from Mike Mururi who was the best in 2014 while at Chemelil Sugar as be becomes the seventh different winner since the advent of the Awards in 2009.

He becomes the first Gor Coach to win the award in the four years after Croat Zdravko Logarusic who nailed it in 2012.

2015 Coach of the Year Award

1stFrank Nuttall (Gor Mahia),

2nd - Robert Matano (Ulinzi Stars)

3rd - Twahir Muhidin (Bandari FC)

Other 2015 nominees: Ken Kenyatta (Ushuru), Paul Nkata (Muhoroni Youth - now at Tusker FC)

Past winners

2014: Mike Mururi (Chemelil Sugar)

2013: Abdallah Juma (KCB)

2012: Zdravko Logarusic (Gor Mahia)

2011: Sammy Omollo (Tusker FC)

2010: Benjamin Nyangweso (Ulinzi Stars)

2009: Robert Matano (Sofapaka)

2008: Francis Kimanzi (Mathare United)

Patrick Korir

Twitter: @tipkorir

Related Articles
Frank Nuttall has been named as the 2015 SportPesa Coach of the Year during a gala held at a Nairobi...
After missing out on a podium finish in the past two years, Gor Mahia keeper Boniface Oluoch reclaim...

John Baraza of Sofapaka was named the 2015 Fair Play Player of the Year in the Footballer of the Yea...
Muhoroni Youth youngster George Mandela has been named the 2015 New Young Player of the Year in the ...

Leave a comment